“I want to drink wine and dance,” I said.

Today, I am nostalgic.

I asked him to pick me up.

“I want to drink wine and dance,” I said.

I didn’t mean for it to feel like a date, hating that the end is coming.

I ate beforehand. His invitation to feed me dinner was too much. It was more intimacy, which I was trying to avoid but so desperately wanted.

We drove up to the concert at an outdoor venue. This was set to be my last concert with him, and with some of my favourite girls before I would leave Botswana.

I was feeling all pretty and carefree in my borrowed hoop earrings.

He reminds me how the last time at this venue, I blew him off. It was because I was with another man. Knowing what I know now? I wish I would’ve noticed him sooner and never looked back.

The main act comes on stage, and we start dancing.

I pretend not to want to take his hand. Rather, I focus on the moment, dancing with friends I will sorely miss.

Tonight, I go out with new friends to bring in the Chinese New Year. New friends, new year, fresh focus. And yeah, there might be more wine and dancing too.

2014-01-31 08.51.25[1]

Leave a Reply

