all curse words and tax collecting

She called me an evangelist, “you bring people together” she said.

We were speaking of my birthday party. I was nervous, worried that my friends from all walks of life wouldn’t connect.

It was quite the collection of people: black, white, old, young, gay, straight, volunteers, entrepreneurs, Christians, Atheists, my drinking buddies, the friends I only talk politics with – the differences are endless. It really was  quite the group. If you were to perform a demographic analysis the only thing they would all have in common? Botswana and me.

To be honest, I was enjoying myself so much (as one should at her own birthday), I couldn’t tell you if it went well or not.

An evangelist? I don’t know about that.

But I do know that Jesus comes in all shapes and forms. He comes in those non-judgmental moments of taking people as they are, all curse words and tax collecting.

2 comments

  1. barqu

    Just hung with your parents on Friday. Man are they cool. Your dad is totally funny and your mom is totally patient – I think these things may be related ;-).

    Great to read The last two posts and feel confidence and hope oozing from them. Continue in His grace and peace friend.

Leave a Reply

