Yesterday I was clever…

Rumi said, “Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”

I came here wanting to change her; to show Africa how I could help in a way no one else had.

And so with the pride that can only come with the cleverness that Rumi suggests: I came to change her and instead she broke me.

More shit has happened here than I ever thought possible. And I said, “WAIT! I am a do gooder! I am helping! I want to change things! Why can these awful things be happening?”

And then I learned: It wasn’t about me changing the world, trying to fit Africa into my idea of what she should be. Rather, it was about changing me. I had to allow this process to happen. To remove the pride, the “do-gooder, pat on the back” kind of thinking.

Africa, she can do this on her own. I know this to be true from the very core of my being. I am just blessed that I am along for the journey, and have the privilege to grow and change with her.

Leave a Reply

