I may as well start laughing with Him

I made plans. Two years in Botswana, serving. And then school. And then I would start my life, or something. And then Proverbs 19:21 happened:

“Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.”

And once again, I am reminded that God has a sense of humour.

You’ve been experiencing it with me.. my freaking out over the future. Leaving Botswana wasn’t feeling right, but I had a plan. My mom asked when she came to visit, in her age-old wisdom, “so what will you do when you come back to Canada?” And I was all like, “Umm, well? Obviously, visit everyone that I love, and then…” Yeah, I had nothing, but this niggling feeling that I wasn’t finished here.

And so, here it is. Not necessarily what I have planned for, and who knows, maybe the funding won’t come in and I’ll have to go back to Canada and live on my parents sofa. But then again, I don’t think that’s going to be the case. And quite honestly, I am really excited. His plans for me have insofar been greater than I could ever known. Harder? Oh yeah, but who said His ways were going to be easy?

And so rather than fighting God,  I am going to trust that His plan will indeed prevail itself. And quite honestly, I might as well start laughing with Him.

The three Chiefs who went to London to ask for protection in the 1800's from the English government. Yeah, they had plans too.

8 comments

  1. Cousin Bev

    It is always better to go with God’s plans than try to make Him fit with our plans. It may not be easier – but much more rewarding! You can count on us for continued support – glad you have come to a decision about the near future. Remember God will always show you the next step – perhaps not the next two, but for sure one at a time – in time. This is getting too full of cliches – I’m going to stop now…

    • Sheila

      Oh Bev! So wonderful – cliches and all 😉 thank you for your inspiring words – and support too! I cherish you and your family! Sending love

  2. Karen

    WE ARE IN! When God calls, we follow and even though for us its not to go to Africa we will continue to support you from good old Medicine Hat. I love you and am so proud, inspired, and thankful that God has used you in my life as you have so honestly shared your journey in Botswana. I thank God for you my wonderful sister, don’t quit hotly pursuing Him because God has much to teach me through you!

    • Sheila

      I am writing your words on my chalkboard, because I need to be reminded of this everyday. Thank you. I would never have been here without you, seriously. I am just touched. love you so much.

  3. Sylvia

    You are not taking abreak from your life, os putting off your plans. You are living your life! Everyday! I am so proud of you for discovering this and following your heart. Love you!

  4. Quinn Barreth

    Sorry, dumb, non-intuitive male here. Does this mean you’ve signed on to stay in Botswana (it looks like you have)? And if so, when can you send us the paperwork to continue supporting you?

    • Sheila

      It is true. And I realised that I wasn’t clear. So I won’t call you dumb, but naturally the non-intuitive male thing would probably still apply. Thanks so much for your continued support!! Seriously. I just emailed SIM and will let you know just now, so basically as soon as i know!
      Yay:)

Leave a Reply

