look deeply

Monday was a hard day. I am still reeling from things that were said. And as a glance at artwork to my left I read the words:

look deeply

listen with compassion

Following those simple phrases could have changed that meeting. And then again maybe not.

And because I need to say these words aloud, to write them out: I am not a lost cause. My time, my role here, is not a lost cause.

I am still wondering how this ever happened. A meeting that was contrary to anything Christian, to anything resembling Jesus. Kindness and love were stripped away (were they ever there?), and what’s left is a sad skeleton.

Pray that we can look deeply and listen with compassion.

Leave a Reply

