in the desert

We went camping to Nxai Pan. And it was great – lots of animals, hectic times with friends – the usual great experiences one expects from camping in Africa.

We took a drive to visit Baines’ Baobab. I ran into the pan. And it was hot and well, how far do you run to show how desolate this place really is?

 

can you see me?

There was no water in the pan, as it appeared, just heat emanating from the earth, creating mirages. I was thankful for our shelter of trees and cool water. Being stuck out here would be deadly. And I can just imagine how one would slowly get more dehydrated, more weary.

Sometimes, I feel like I am stuck in a desert (this time its a metaphorical one – yes I do actually live in the desert, the irony is not lost on me). Where I am searching and wondering where God is and I begin to doubt His faithfulness. The Jews waited for their Messiah for thousands of years and in Isaiah 40 it reads of waiting on the Lord, for His coming:

“But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired.

 

Instead of just getting frustrated in my desert – I will wait on the Lord. And not the kind of waiting, worrying, biting nail, glancing at your watch but rather in expectation, actively seeking and in hope.

4 comments

  1. Cousin Bev

    Here’s another Isaiah verse for you:

    58:11 “The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your soul in drought”.

    Can’t wait to see a picture of your Mom and Dad on this blog! – glad they are able to visit.

  2. Sheila

    Thanks for the extra encouragement and reminder!
    I can’t wait for them to arrive. I can already imagine there are going to be some stellar stories.

  3. Quinn Barreth

    I dunno, I found that post a bit “dry”.

    There is never a bad time for a pun. Which is one reason I believe I get along so well with your old dad.

Leave a Reply

