Stir Up the Flame

It was February 2009 when I was stepping onto a plane heading towards Regina, Saskatchewan for orientation. I squelched the urge to shout “I am becoming a missionary”. For me it was laughable. I was being called to mission work, something I never even dreamt as a possibility. And I knew that once that plane took off my life would never be the same.

This decision was made out of boldness; I was jumping headlong into service in Africa.

It reminds me of a youth conference while I was at Bible School. It was entitled “Step Off” (much to my secret joy that the leadership clearly didn’t know what STEP OFF really meant). But in hopes that the students might understand what they really meant by the phrase – we painted a mural with a guy diving off a cliff.

That imagery will always stay with me. When we are fanning the Holy Spirit’s flame, it gives us the ability to take action, to come in boldness.

“For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.”

What got me pondering this verse… Untitled.

4 comments

    • Sheila

      Thank you for for challenging and encouraging me – God is working through your site! And it definately won’t be the last reference…

  1. Quinn Barreth

    Life in Christ really is being willing to step past the curtain (dive off the cliff) and let God prepare you through what you meet on the other side. If you get enough used to doing that, then at the end of the mortal life, the last curtain/dive is really quite simple.

    At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

    • Sheila

      good point – letting God prepare us for what is the other side. He totally equips us for making that step!
      Thanks for the insight Quinn

Leave a Reply

