A Quarter of a Century

The plans will be changed slightly this morning as I look out the window and see clouds. Maybe it will rain (good news as this would be the first rain of the rainy season – I think the last time it rained was April?). But hopefully it won’t, because that might put a damper on my outdoor braai and pool party. It was hot last week (in the 30s) but the weather lately has been weirdly cold again… winter is trying to hang on.

It is my 25th birthday today. This isn’t my first birthday overseas (I turned 21 in Italy) but this is certainly a memorable occasion. After all, a year ago, I was having a co party, goodbye and happy birthday as I began this journey towards living in Africa.

I am pretty blessed too, friends came down from Maun, and I will be able to hang out with many people today that have made life here wonderful. I am blessed and God has been with me through it all.

Some excerpts from Psalm 25:1-7  to remember this year.

” To you, O Lord, I lift up my soul, in you I put my trust, O my God… Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths, guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Remember, O Lord, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old. Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O Lord.”

4 comments

  1. Cousin Bev

    Happy Birthday Sheila. I remember when you were born – how old does that make me? I hope you have a GREAT day. You are heading into the warmer weather – we’re struggling to get above 12 degrees – sigh.

    • Sheila

      you? old? Never! It was a great day, and it did warm up… not into the thirties, but still nice. Though you can remind me of 12 degrees when it gets into the forties and we will see who will be sighing 🙂

  2. Rod & Jeri Masterson

    Happy Birthday Sheila!

    No one can party like Africans (at least in Mali).

    Rod and I just recently had supper with Clinton & Karen in Calgary. It was so good to see them again and get caught up on their lives.

    It was also so good to hear from them about you. What a change for you. I really can honestly say that every time I think of you and remember you, it is with GREAT JOY.

    We are doing great in Three Hills. We are just into a new fall schedule. I keep busy by swimming every day (Monday – Friday), crocheting myself a tablecloth and an afghan for a friend. Then as of last Monday I am assisting in teaching a “digital communication” course at the college here. This includes graphic design. So here I am back at it again only teaching others the difference between good and bad design.

    Lots of Love to YOU,

    Jeri

    • Sheila

      I love that you are able to connect with Karen and Clinton! And that you are keeping busy in Three Hills 🙂
      I also have great memories of our time together – I am sure the new people you are teaching will enjoy the same!

Leave a Reply

