I got the joy, joy, joy, joy…

Joyous? Or just crazy and armed?

I was at Old Naledi on Friday, helping out with the feeding programme and ministry in the ghetto in Gaborone. We sang songs, listened to Levi and Andy tell the story of Easter – of Christ’s love for us! While the children were eating, two of the older girls came up to me, and one said “Lekgoa (white person), you like to laugh.” I responded with: “well, yes I do.” They nodded, turned and walked away.

And I realised that I it’s true. I do.  It is the joy deep inside that can’t help but overflow.

We were singing songs under the tree, complete with actions, and they are so funny. So I laugh. And act silly. Some of these children are so stoic, the older ones especially, many of whom are taking care of their younger siblings, because there is no one else. These kids need joy in their lives, and not joy just from a fun song or from a sweetie but they need Jesus. And they need people to show them that despite our circumstances we can laugh and sing and praise our Father in heaven who loves us.

God is so amazing, in His infinite power, has come down to our level, sacrificed His Son for us. And yes, sometimes it makes me weep, because a love like that is overwhelming, and I am so undeserving. But lately, it has brought great comfort, joy and loads of laughter. He is so good to us! He made us in His image! My cup overflows. How abundant!

Even when things seem stressful, and work feels so overwhelming I have joy knowing that I am loved and accepted. How crazy is that!?!  And so in the midst of life, being joyful is fruit of the Holy Spirit working in me (Galatians 5:22).

And if I had a recording of it I would paste it here, but pretend you can hear me and George and Edie (yes, we will call ourselves the Westward Ho’s! when we go on tour) singing the three-part harmony – “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart! Where? Down in my heart! Where? Down in my heart… And I am so happy, so very happy, I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart (down in my heart) and I am so happy, so very ha-ha-ppy I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart!”

Leave a Reply

