why not make it a dance party?

I flagged the Mogoditshane 10 combi and squeezed myself into the second seat, one cheek on one cheek off. It was lunch time, so very hot and every combi is packed full. Combi riding can be sensory overload, manoeuvring in the busy streets  all the while riding the western/Batswana culture line.

I was hanging onto the seat in front of me as we weaved in and out of traffic, hooting to let walkers know we had one more space for the lucky few, as the smell of sweat became more and more pungent, while a woman crammed between two people near the front finishes breastfeeding, meanwhile I am fighting to get my 30 thebe change, all to the tune of Rihanna’s “Disturbia”.

By the time Jay Sean’s “Down” came on I started bobbing my head along as seemingly everyone began singing “down, down, down, down…”

Leave a Reply

