give me a latte and I am happy

This evening I was picked up by great friends and we made our way to an internet cafe. Armed with only 40% left on my battery and a latte I was able to get online.

I spend a lot of time with married couples here at Flying Mission. I get a kick out of how different married couples interact. The more I hang out with couples, the more items I add to my mental list of what characteristics I would desire (or stay as far away as possible from) in a relationship. This weekend in particular has been a really amazing time of hanging out with my married friends and I realised as Alysa asked Jon to grab her something as we were cooking – I don`t have anyone asking me for anything at home. I haven`t decided yet if that is necessarily a good or bad thing, just different. Although I have learned to open my own jars. I even kill all my own spiders.

I was reading an article online about being single, and one of the commenters talked about the longer you wait for marriage the pickier you become. That might be true. Regardless, I have come to the very important realisation that it is far better to be single then to be in an unhappy marriage. And I praise God that I am in a place where I can see that so very clearly.

And in the end if marriage is in my future or not, I am learning the art of being content in any circumstances; it is not my circumstances but Christ who defines me. I was reading (once again) in Philippians 4, where Paul talks about contentedness in his circumstances…

`I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.`

2 comments

  1. Bev Krul

    Good for you! – Become the woman God wants you to be and if that woman is one a certain man desires, good; if not, good – you are best off living your life to please God, not a man.

Leave a Reply

