His compassion speaks louder than words

More from my village experience…

I went again to Camphill (a school for mentally and physically disabled kids). It is such an amazing experience. I have come to realize that although my passion may not be teaching or working with people who have disabilities I am called to serve and share the compassion and love of Jesus Christ – the kind that Christ has for all of us. It is one of those experiences where you go to serve, but in the end, I was the one that was blessed.

I loved watching one little girl with Down syndrome in her light blue dress and pretty sandals working in the garden with such determination.

Or caring for a boy who although is confined to a wheelchair and is unable to speak we played a board game together, he won much to my overplayed chagrin. We laughed and laughed. And then I helped him drink his milo at snack time. Bits of half chewed bread and warm milo drink smearing everywhere – but none of that mattered, it was a time of connection with a very clever little boy, who said it all with one glance into his eyes. He taught me so much.

I had the pleasure of helping a little girl with a puzzle, she doesn’t speak a language that anyone at the school knows, and will look off into the distance often, but we finished a puzzle together. And she giggled afterward. I wanted to leap with joy! 

It took time and patience to work with these little ones, but I have never felt so blessed. God is so good and I praise Him for how He has shaped me into His likeness. How I long for my life to reflect His compassion and glory always.

Leave a Reply

