What’s my name again?

I have been given a Setswana name: Gaone (Ha-oh-nay). Already I have forgotten to answer to it – 24 years of answering to Sheila and in the first hour I am supposed to answer to the name meaning “only from God” with an eh ma/ra (yes ma’am/sir). I have had to ask repeatedly the saddest question you have ever heard, “what’s my name again?” before I can respond to the question: Leina la gago ke mang? My answer (which seems redundant since the person has just heard what my name is, but regardless): Leina la me ke Gaone!

My first few days here have been a bit slow – it is not terribly organized here, and so I find myself having a bit too much time on my hands. Which just makes me homesick and honestly it has been the first time I have felt so alone in Botswana. I am thankful though that I have experienced the love of God like never before – thank you that I can turn to you, my Father- and who else is better? You know me intimately!

Psalm 139: 1-10 “O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise;  you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD. You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.”  

No matter where or am or even if I cannot remember my name, He is with me. I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

