I need Africa

Church this past Sunday was full of emotions for me. The music was fantastic. I love worshipping with people who are so free, and I couldn’t help but laugh when I tried to dance with everyone else. Passion in worship is so evident here. And although I wasn’t able to sing some of the songs (my Setswana really needs to improve) I loved to praise Him even without words.

I think what is so fantastic about the African culture is that the material seems less important – they are a people who work hard to just exist. Their past and present has been filled with such hardship – here in Botswana AIDS affects everyone, even though they might not be willing to admit it. A great organization called Mocha Club has a slogan – I Need Africa More Than Africa Needs Me…

“The truth is, in Africa I find hearts full of victory, indomitable spirits. In places where despair should thrive, instead I find adults dancing and singing, and children playing soccer with a ball crafted of tied up trash. Instead of payback, I find grace. Here, weekend getaways are not options to provide relief from the pains of daily life. Relationships and faith provide joy. Love is sovereign (https://www.mochaclub.org/i-need-africa).”

Sadly, there is a shift in Gaborone. As more come from their village life into the city the ideal is to have the best car, the best house: if it’s bigger, shinier, more expensive it is better. Sound familiar? Now, I am not saying that Gabs has become a cespool of materialism, but it many parts of the city one can see how the two worlds are colliding.

The church I visited preached “Prosperity Gospel” – an idea that becoming a child of God means that you reap wealth when you are in God’s favour… that His blessing equals material possessions. They were fired up about a prophetic word: that this would be the year that people would get want they want – a job, a car, a house… It hurt my soul. Just to think these people are being wooed, in church, towards materialism. In North America, we are well aware of the pull of materialism and here in Gaborone, the media and even some churches are making it seem so glamorous, masking how it can destroy.

For so many years, my clothes, my job – basically how much money I could earn to afford all of my things became my focus, and ultimately my god. Jesus Christ took a back seat. Now, I am thrilled to say that’s changing. On Sunday, it was hard to keep quiet when I heard people being taught that God’s blessing equals how much stuff they have. I know for a fact that blessing from God is not the material. God’s blessing is Himself. My desires, my hopes, my dreams are in His hands. And if that means being poor than Amen!

People here are yearning for God. They are yearning for His presence and His blessing! Praise God that He has given us the tools to be content no matter what our circumstances!

Pray for the church in Gaborone. Pray that they would not be wooed by materialism. But that they would seek His Voice, not the voices of empty promises. And that they can stand firm against the pull of evil desires and remember their heritage.

I sang this song all day today, a yearning in my heart for God to touch the hearts in Gaborone. It is a great reminder for myself as well:

Give us clean hands

Give us pure hearts

Let us not lift our souls to another

Oh God let us be a generation that seeks

That seeks your face oh God of Jacob

Leave a Reply

